RSS Feed

Just Let Go

Posted on

“What’s wrong with us?  I just don’t get it?”

I shook my head sympathetically as I shoved another not-just-delicious-but-damned-near-orgasmic bleu cheese gougere into my mouth. I was ashamed that a very small part of me felt relieved as my friend Lidia poured her online dating disappointment into her wineglass. I’d seen the kissy-face commercials. I’d heard the nauseatingly happy we-found-each-other-online fairy tales. I’d deleted the matrimonial kill-marking e-mail advertisements. While I truly commiserated with my dear friend and felt her pain, I was damn happy it wasn’t just me.

I’d manufactured many, many reasons for my failure to find “the one.”  I was too busy. I was intimidating. I was what many described as “but she has such a pretty face!” However, Lidia is everywoman – strong, successful and drop-dead-is-an-understatement gorgeous.  Yet she’d just run screaming from the stalker in prince’s clothing she’d found on eHarmony – only the latest in a succession of losers we’d both unearthed electronically.

Over the course of our subscriptions, we’d become pretty adept at identifying and throwing back into the pond the fish we didn’t want. Waiter (just waiting for your ship to come in)? Find a j-o-b. Fixer-upper? Call a repairwoman. Bootycaller? Don’t even. However, modern nutcase camouflage is far more sophisticated than our rudimentary psycho-meters. All too often our Criminal Minds wannabes escaped their straitjackets and pretended to be normal just long enough for us to let a toe in the door.

Lidia snurfled as she continued to try to figure out what we needed to do differently. “Maybe our standards are unreasonable and we need to compromise a little.” 

From somewhere in the heavens (at least that’s where I like to think she’s now cavorting with the men who made her a widow many times over) my late Aunt Lula – you met her in an earlier post, See, I Told You So – stuck her fingers in my ears.  Between us, Lidia and I had disposed of more than a half a dozen ‘wasbands’ — if you count the one she remarried multiple times. A small cough (as I nearly choked on another gougere), a raised eyebrow and an icy glare later, Lidia reconsidered. Settling – again – is probably the worst of ideas.

Perhaps the only thing ‘wrong’ with us is that we work too hard – not at our jobs, of course (as committed workaholics, “too hard” is not a part of our vocabularies), but at finding a companion. Perhaps we need to release that death grip we have on control (ouch – the mere thought of relinquishing any is painful; I need another gougere) and just let things happen. Perhaps we need to simply put it out there — tell the Universe what we want — then take a deep breath and relax. Continue doing only those things that bring smiles to our faces. The Universe always has our backs; when the time is right, it will bring us together with smiles that match ours.

My friend Marta once remarked as she raked in a stack of poker chips formerly known as mine: “We have a saying in Germany.  The dumbest farmers grow the biggest potatoes.” I know the proverb was her attempt at making me feel better by attributing to fortune the butt-whipping she’d just handed me.

But perhaps she was Cupid’s messenger as well.

About PD Williams

Writer - primarily humorous women's fiction. My secret agenda is to help men become in actuality the visions they think they already are. I point out their many flaws in the kindest, gentlest, most supportive way I know -- gotta protect those fragile male egos -- so we can stop wasting our energy trying to change them. After all, as women, we have more important things to do.

7 responses »

  1. Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh I am at a loss for words. So pissed by “but she has such a pretty face!” This comment makes me want to punch some one in the throat. “Maybe our standards are unreasonable and we need to compromise a little.” This one embarrases me as a man.

    Reply
  2. Deralyn Boyd

    All the good guys are long gone. You can’t even find a good guy in church anymore.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

