RSS Feed

Alex, I’ll Take Torture for $100

Posted on

Some people want it all, but I don’t want nothing at all if I can’t have you. You’re the meaning in my life; you’re the inspiration. You’re every breath I take; you’re every step I make. I can’t live if living is without you. You’re all I need to get by. I just want to be your everything.

Why is it that we can’t seem to find love without losing ourselves in the process?

I’ve tried to resist being last on your list, but no other man’s gonna do. You’ve got me where you want me; I ain’t nothin’ but your fool. Ain’t no way for me to give you all you need, if I can’t give you all of me. Keep on using me ‘til you use me up. There’s no good reason for living, but I’ll keep on living for you. I would rather go blind than to see you walk away from me.

Why is it that having a man in our lives is so important that we’re willing to collapse on the funeral pyres of our selves, ignite the kindling and rotate repeatedly for a crisp, even burn?

I don’t have hopes and dreams, I don’t have anything since I don’t have you. You walked out; and out went my life. Without you I just can’t go on. There is no me without you – no meaning to my life without you. How am I supposed to live without you after I’ve been loving you so long? I would die for you, honey — if you want me to.

Why are we so unhappy with us that we’d rather be miserably yoked to another than — heaven forbid — remain single? If we so dislike our own company that we’d give up being who we are to avoid being alone, what have we worth offering anyone else?

Is it possible that if we love, accept and respect ourselves exactly as we are, we avoid much of the heartache associated with being in love?

Quick! Run and grab a mirror (it’s okay, sweetie;  I’ll wait). Now smile and serenade the incredible woman smiling back at you:

Loving you is not a choice; it’s who I am. To love you, to me, is to live. You are why I live. I only live to love you more each day. You are the moon and the stars and the air that I breathe. You’re everything I hoped for. You’re all I need to get by. Forever it will be you and me. Have I told you lately that I love you?

I honestly love you.

About PD Williams

Writer - primarily humorous women's fiction. My secret agenda is to help men become in actuality the visions they think they already are. I point out their many flaws in the kindest, gentlest, most supportive way I know -- gotta protect those fragile male egos -- so we can stop wasting our energy trying to change them. After all, as women, we have more important things to do.

10 responses »

  1. I love it! Your age is showingggggg you big softyyyyyy. And yes i wrote all those songs. Those are actually all my pick up lines! “Is it possible that if we love, accept and respect ourselves exactly as we are, we avoid much of the heartache associated with being in love?” YESSSSSS BECAUSE THEN THERE ARE NO GAMES! ONLY TRUTH AND EQUAL PARTNERSHIP. Your Welcome! The invoice is in the mail. So nice to see that you understand that it’s not us men who need the fixing.

    Reply
    • Sorry, Pete, I understand no such thing. However, I am willing to admit that women need fixing too ;-). And yes, my age is showing, darling. Like a fine antique, I wear my patina proudly — just waiting for the right antique-lover worthy of appreciating it. Thanks, Pete!

      Reply
  2. Some women are too insecure to be in a romantic, intimate relationship with themselves. To nurture and caress their every thought. To be free to carry on how she wants to without ever wondering if her actions are offensive. To go skinny dipping walking around her house because it’s Wednesday and she wants to.

    Different strokes for different folks my dear 🙂

    Reply
  3. Loving oneself is a necessary precondition to loving anyone else. Just pretend you’re comfortably seated in an aisle seat on a half-filled wide body aircraft. You’re buckled in and it’s truly a beautiful day for flying. The flight attendant points out, in the event of loss of cabin pressure, oxygen masks will drop automatically from the compartment above your seat. The point is made that, should you be with someone in your care, you must affix your mask prior to helping your charge affix theirs. That person is whoever you are having a relationship with, regardless of what that relationship may entail. To thine own self be true. Then you’ll really have the strength to take care of others, whether they be lovers or children. I believe this to be true. I can testify it works the same for men as it does for women 🙂

    Reply
  4. Beautiful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

