RSS Feed

Tax Day

“Hi, this is Paula. How can I help you?”

“I know this is the deadline day, but can you still take a new client? My tax return is really very simple. All I have is my social security and a pension.”

I always chuckled as the ‘little old lady’ at the other end of the line rattled on.

“And I have a couple of small rental properties. I had three, but I sold one last year. Oh, and I sold all my late husband’s stock.”

Every year I anticipate the call.

“I almost forgot — I run a little side business here in the retirement village.”

Last year’s conversation continued; it was by far her most creative.

“Can you drop by, pick everything up and get it all back to me for signatures in time for you to run it to the post office. I don’t like that new-fangled electronic crap and I never file extensions.”

There are two traditions I eagerly await on April 15th each year. One is the beautiful floral arrangement my daughters send to the office congratulating the staff and me on another successfully completed tax season.

The other was a call from Tom as he finally left his office on tax day — pretending to be a little old lady in distress.

Today, for the first time in twelve years, she didn’t call…

About PD Williams

Writer - primarily humorous women's fiction. My secret agenda is to help men become in actuality the visions they think they already are. I point out their many flaws in the kindest, gentlest, most supportive way I know -- gotta protect those fragile male egos -- so we can stop wasting our energy trying to change them. After all, as women, we have more important things to do.

4 responses »

  1. What a great story as well as a little sad. Thank you for all you do.

    Reply
  2. OMG! That brought tears to my eyes 😦
    Thinkings of you!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

