RSS Feed

Surprise!

Apparently, I’ve received the neighborhood seal of approval on the improvements to my home. My next door neighbor stopped me this morning to compliment the work.

My trailer park mailbox — the one that habitually fell over at the slightest breeze — has been replaced by a stuccoed concrete block monolith. A beautiful Moroccan porch light glows in the home formerly occupied by the motion-sensitive light that only flashed passing cars. And the matching sconces flanking the garage welcome me home each evening.

But he’s especially impressed with the new open air sitting room and the other work I’ve done in the back yard.

I smiled broadly as I imagined what my home’s facelift had likely done for the property values in our little neighborhood.

But my face’s sunshine quickly morphed into the deep purple-gray Chambourd covering my front door. I strongly suspect what I perceived as appreciation of my new patio was a hint that tending its garden in my T-shirt and granny panties every morning had not gone unnoticed.

About PD Williams

Writer - primarily humorous women's fiction. My secret agenda is to help men become in actuality the visions they think they already are. I point out their many flaws in the kindest, gentlest, most supportive way I know -- gotta protect those fragile male egos -- so we can stop wasting our energy trying to change them. After all, as women, we have more important things to do.

7 responses »

  1. I love it

    Reply
  2. Out back in granny panties?
    Oh my lord!!
    I love the post,
    I will have to wear a Hugh straw hat next time I come over and drive some one else’s car

    Reply
  3. Granny panties? What happened to all those thongs we got you?!?!?!? 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

